2015 World League Media Guide available now


The 2015 World League Media Guide is available now

Lausanne, Switzerland, May 13, 2015 - The official 2015 FIVB Volleyball World League Media Guide is now available.

2015 FIVB Volleyball World League Media Guide - Download here.

The Media Guide features information on every team set to compete in the 26th edition of the tournament as well as key statistics from past competitions and the most up-to-date schedule and competition formula.

It is the first time the FIVB’s premiere event will feature 32 teams. Having had 16 teams from 2001-2003 and 2006-2012, the World League featured eight teams in its inaugural year in 1990, 10 in 1991, 12 from 1992-2000 and 2004-05, 18 in the 2013 edition and 28 in 2014.

The Intercontinental Round will begin on May 16. The Group 3 Finals take place in Slovakia from July 3-5. They will be followed by the Group 2 Finals in Bulgaria from July 10-12 and by the Group 1 Finals in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil from July 14-19.

Nine-time winners and 2014 silver medallists Brazil head Pool A alongside bronze medallists from the last edition Italy, three-time silver medallists Serbia as well as Australia who were promoted from Group 2.

Reigning champions USA will begin the defence of their crown in Pool B and will take on 2013 winners Russia, world champions Poland and the ever-improving Iran.

Pool C features Bulgaria, Canada, Argentina and Cuba with the latter promoted after their triumph in the Group 3 finals in 2014. France will look to go one better and triumph in Group 2 after finishing second in 2014, but first need to come through Pool D which includes Japan, Korea and Czech Republic. Belgium, the Netherlands, Finland and Portugal complete the Group in Pool E.

Montenegro will make their bow in the tournament in Pool F with Turkey, Puerto Rico and Tunisia. Greece return for the first time in a decade in Pool G and will face Mexico, Slovakia and China while Egypt are also back after a five-year absence in Pool H along with debutants Kazakhstan, Spain and Venezuela.

Related information:
FIVB Volleyball World League pages on


All the News